Springfield Jazz Festival

6 Oct

About two hours before the 3rd annual Springfield Jazz Festival was supposed to start, I received an unexpected phone call.  The event was supposed to take place on a couple outdoor stages, but the rainy, 45 degree weather was less than accommodating.  “Think we could move this inside the Gillioz?”

Not one to turn down a challenge and the opportunity to mix some bands on a Friday night (this was a rare Friday I originally had to myself), I said “sure, we can make that happen,” and 20 minutes later there were a few dozen jazz players inside the venue.

Apparently they had planned on two stages, and we only really have our main auditorium, so I grabbed the intern and some staging decks and built this little guy in our front lobby. I even gelled a couple 36 degree lekos and lit the place up.  Of course once the house LD arrived, I had him give the seal of approval.

The night went off without a hitch and a multitude of jazz was enjoyed in the comfort of the warm theatre I lovingly call home.

20121006-134533.jpg

Leave a Reply

